Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

May 8, 2014 Volume 35, No. 30

2014 Faculty-Alumni Awards Announced

Faculty-Alumni Awards, begun in 1968 by the Mizzou Alumni Association, recognize the achievements of faculty and alumni. 

Faculty are considered for their work as teachers, researchers and administrators. Alumni are considered for both their accomplishments in professional life and service to their alma mater.

The 2014 award winners are:

Distinguished Service Award

Harvey Eisen, BS BA ’64, of Mount Kisco, N.Y. 

55th Distinguished Faculty Award

Marilyn Rantz, Curators Professor of Nursing, of Columbia

47th Faculty-Alumni Awards Alumni

• Dennis Alberts, BA ’71, BS BA ’71, MBA ’72, of Dallas

• Morris Burger, BS Ag ’57, of Calif., Mo.

• Wanona Fritz, BSN ’68, of Surprise, Ariz.

• Jerry Kennett, MD ’73, of Columbia, Mo.

• Vicki Russell, BJ ’72, of Columbia

• James Thorne, BS Ag ’60, DVM ’61, of Columbia

• Michael Williams, AB ’95, JD ’98, Blue Springs, Mo.


• Margaret Duffy, professor and chair of strategic communication

• Stephen Ferris, J.H. Rogers Chair of Money, Credit and Banking and professor of finance

• Mitchell McKinney, associate professor of communication

• Donna Otto, BSN ’72, MS ’81, emerita teaching instructor  

• Jeremy Taylor, Curators Distinguished Professor of Genetics and Wurdack Chair of Animal Genomics

In the fall, an awards banquet will be held to honor the alumni and faculty.