Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

April 3, 2014 Volume 35, No. 25

Surprise: Instructors win teaching awards

Alternate text

Chancellor R. Bowen Loftin informed Professor Leigh Neier of her Kemper award during her Monday morning class in Strickland Hall. Photo by Rob Hill.

2014 William T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence

MU administrators and Commerce Bank Chair Jim Schatz surprised five faculty in their classrooms Monday as part of the 2014 William T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence.

This year’s winners are:

  • Leigh Neier, an assistant teaching professor in the Department of Learning, Teaching and Curriculum in the College of Education;
  • Jeff Krug, an assistant teaching professor of physical therapy in the Department of Physical Therapy in the School of Health Professions;
  • John Bennett, an associate teaching professor of marketing in the Trulaske College of Business;
  • Ann Harrell, an associate professor of voice and voice area coordinator in the College of Arts and Science;
  • Bryon Wiegand, an associate professor of animal science in the Division of Animal Sciences.

Each winner received $10,000 from the fellowship, a trust fund managed by Commerce Bank and named after a 1926 alumnus.