Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Oct. 4, 2012 Volume 34, No. 7

Press Advisory Committee members announced at Faculty Council


Advisory members include faculty from all four campuses

Committee members appointed to advise on the direction of Missouri Press were revealed at the Faculty Council meeting Sept. 27 in Memorial Union. 

The committee includes faculty from all four campuses, Missouri Press authors, a former press managing editor and the executive director of the Missouri Humanities Council. The first meeting will be in comming weeks.

The Press Advisory Committee:

• Craig Roberts, MU professor of plant sciences

• Rebecca Johnson, MU nursing professor

• Gary Ebersole, history department chair at the University of Missouri–Kansas City (UMKC)

• Michael Murray, professor of broadcast journalism at the University of Missouri–St Louis (UMSL)

• Mark Fitch, associate professor of civil engineering at Missouri University of Science and Technology.

• Steve Moehrle, chairman of the Intercampus Faculty Council and an associate professor of accounting at UMSL

• Wilma King, director of MU’s black studies program

• Becky Stafford, chair of the MU Staff Advisory Council

• Kristofferson Culmer, president of the MU Graduate Professional Council

• Mel George, UM System president emeritus

• Geoff Giglierano, executive director of the Missouri Humanities Council

• Jane Lago, former managing editor of Missouri Press

• John Fennell, associate professor of journalism at MU

• Gary Kremer, director of The State Historical Society of Missouri, and editor of several Missouri Press history books published between 1991 and 2004

• Susan Flader, professor emerita of history at MU, who wrote Exploring Missouri’s Legacy: State Parks and Historical Sites (Missouri Press, 1992)

• Mary Barile, associate director of the MU Office of Grant Writing and

Publications and author of The Santa Fe Trail in Missouri (Missouri Press, 2010)

The ad hoc members are:

• Jim Cogswell, MU director of libraries

• Michael O’Brien, dean of the MU College of Arts & Science

• Dean Mills, dean of the MU School of Journalism

• Richard Wallace, MU chancellor emeritus

• Deborah Noble-Triplett, UM System assistant vice president of academic affairs.

Committee members will meet with Chancellor Brady J. Deaton and UM System President Tim Wolfe. 

Also at the meeting, council members continued to discuss forming a faculty committee that would perform a “root cause analysis” of how officials decided to close Missouri Press. 

Council wants to discuss “shared governance, what it means and how it impacts all levels of the university,” Faculty Council Chair Harry Tyrer said.