Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Nov. 8, 2012 Volume 34, No. 12

Faculty honored for their research and teaching at awards event


35 faculty received plaques for their 25 years of Mizzou service

Faculty praised the University of Missouri’s culture of collaboration and research at the Faculty Recognition Awards Oct. 30 in Reynolds Alumni Center.

Jack Jones, Dunmire Professor of Water Quality in the Department of Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences — and one of four recipients of the Curators Professorship Award — said that his 37-year MU career “has allowed me to do everything I ever wanted to do.”

Justin Dyer, assistant professor of political science — and recipient of the Provost Outstanding Junior Faculty Research & Creative Activity Award — said that the university enables “me to do research in areas that excited me in graduate school.”

Chancellor Brady J. Deaton and Provost Brian Foster hosted the evening event. Below is the list of recipients.

• Curators Professorship Award: Nancy Flournoy, statistics; Gerald Hazelbauer, biochemistry; Jack Jones, fisheries and wildlife sciences; Mian Liu, geological sciences

• President’s Innovative Teaching Award: Betsy Baker, learning, teaching and curriculum

• President’s Award for Cross-Cultural Engagement: Bea Gallimore, romance languages and literatures

• President’s Award for Community Engagement: Clyde Ruffin, theater

• President’s Award for Economic Development: Thomas Johnson, agriculture economics, MU Extension

• President’s University Citizenship Award for Service: John David, biological sciences

• President’s Award for MU Sustained Excellence: Grace Sun, biochemistry

• Thomas Jefferson Award: H. Carl Gerhardt, biological sciences

• Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Faculty Research & Creative Activity in the Physical & Mathematical Sciences: Ioan Kosztin, physics

• Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Faculty Research & Creative Activity in the Social & Behavioral Sciences: Amanda Rose, psychological sciences

• William H. Byler Distinguished Professor Award: Jo Stealey, art

• Provost Outstanding Junior Faculty Research & Creative Activity Award: Justin Dyer, political sciences

• Provost Outstanding Junior Faculty Teaching Award: Kristina Aldridge, pathology and anatomical sciences; Dale Fitch, social work; Trista Strauch, animal sciences and fisheries and wildlife sciences

• Provost Leadership in International Education Award: Thomas Johnson, agricultural economics, MU Extension

• Provost Award for Creative Extension Programming by New Faculty: David Schramm, human environmental sciences, MU Extension

• Donald W. Fancher Provost Award for Outstanding Achievement in Extension & Continuing Education: Marcia Shannon, animal sciences, MU Extension

• Excellence in Teaching with Technology Award: Undergraduate Education: Keri McBee-Black, textile and apparel management

• Excellence in Teaching with Technology Award: Graduate & Professional Education: Jill Ostrow, learning, teaching and curriculum

In addition, 35 faculty who’ve been with MU for 25 years were awarded plaques with framed campus artwork for their service.