Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Sept. 1, 2011 Volume 33, No. 2

Staff Advisory Council welcomes new members, officers


Five retiring members also recognized

University of Missouri staff members have chosen four new members to serve on the campus’s Staff Advisory Council, and have elected a new slate of officers for 2011-12.

The new members, who will serve three-year terms, were introduced at the council’s annual staff advisory recognition luncheon on Sept. 1 in the Reynolds Alumni Center.

The newest members are:

• David Champlin, graphic artist II, Student Auxiliary Services;

* Jason Harris, grounds keeper, Campus Facilities;

• Pam Monroe, administrative assistant, Undergraduate Research;

• Donna Stearns, grants and contracts administrator, College of Veterinary Medicine.

Council member also welcomed newly elected officers. Angel Anderson, executive staff assistant I with the Chancellor’s Diversity Initiative, will serve as chair this year. Katrina Moning, grounds keeper II, Campus Facilities, is the new vice chair; and Tom Bowling, executive staff assistant I, Sinclair School of Nursing, was elected recorder. 

The luncheon was also a chance to thank five retiring members of the council for their service: Diane Bartley, Becky Stafford, Marijo Dixon, Stanley Hughes and Hannah Nevius. 

MU’s Service Champions for the 2010-11 academic year were also honored. The monthly Service Champions are employees who demonstrate an exceptional work ethic and attitude. They are nominated by faculty, staff and students and chosen by the council.

Service champions for the past year are: Patridia White, Campus Facilities; Joey Riley, Space Planning and Management; Danny Patterson, Bond Life Sciences Center; Stan Gallihugh Jr., Cashier, Payroll and Student Loan Office; LaDora Rogers, School of Journalism; Devon McTye, Accounting Services; Mary Pixley, Museum of Art and Archaeology; Lori Hall Jones, Human Environmental Sciences; Lauri Garman, Cashier, Payroll and Student Loan Office; Amber Neely, Animal Sciences; Shirley Holdmeier, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Cynthia Travis, Cashier, Payroll and Student Loan Office; and Lindsey Gentry, Office of Medical Education.

The 16-member Staff Advisory Council was formed in 1978 to serve as a liaison between MU staff and the administration. The council coordinates the annual staff recognition week and administers programs like the staff development awards and the educational endowment program.

More information about these programs and the ways staff can contact council members is available at