Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Nov. 10, 2011 Volume 33, No. 12

SEC bound

After months of speculation, the Southeastern Conference (SEC) has officially welcomed the University of Missouri.

SEC commissioner Mike Slive, and University of Florida President Bernie Machen, a native St. Louisan who also chairs the conference’s board of presidents and chancellors, joined Chancellor Brady J. Deaton, Director of Athletics Mike Alden and hundreds of MU faculty, staff, students, alumni and fans for the public announcement and celebration at the MU Student Center Nov. 6.

The Tigers will compete in the Big 12 for the remainder of the 2011-12 school year before officially beginning to play in  the SEC July 1, 2012. Fellow Big 12 member Texas A&M will join Mizzou in the new 14-team SEC.