Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Oct. 14, 2010 Volume 32, No. 8

Missouri Honor Medal winners announced

Five leading journalists, an advertising executive and two international organizations will receive the Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism. 

The 2010 medalists are:

  • JamesBalog, founder and director, Extreme Ice Survey and Earth Vision Trust
  • Cathleen Black, chairman, Hearst Magazines
  • Dorothy J. Gaiter, wine columnist and author
  • Myron Kandel, financial journalist; Sandy Rowe, editor
  • Larry Postaer, co-chairman, Rubin Postaer & Associates
  • The Foundation for the Freedom of the Press (FLiP), Bogota, Colombia
  • ZETA Weekly Newspaper, Tijuana, Baja California. 

Medalists are selected by the faculty of the MU School of Journalism on the basis of lifetime or superior achievement and distinguished service. 

The Missouri Honor Medal activities will be held Thursday, Oct. 28. Each medalist will present a master class to students during the day. The medals will be presented during a banquet that evening.

For information about the master classes and banquet, please contact Suzette Heiman at