Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Sept. 1, 2010 Volume 32, No. 2

A&S names 2010 Faculty-Alumni Award winners

Jerry Atwood, Curators Professor of Chemistry, has received the Mizzou Alumni Association’s highest faculty honor, the Distinguished Faculty Award. Atwood is one of the top 50 chemists in the world, according to the Institute of Scientific Research.

Frederick vom Saal, Curators Professor of Biological Sciences, is the recipient of the Faculty Award. Vom Saal is a leading researcher in the field of developmental biology, and has studied how man-made chemicals, including plastics, can mimic hormones at extremely low doses.

The alumni award winners, Jeffrey P. Bonner, BA ’75 anthropology, and Tarek S. Mansour, PhD ‘82 chemistry, were recognized for their professional accomplishments, community involvement and service to the university. The honorees will be recognized at the Faculty-Alumni Awards Banquet on Friday, October 8.