Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

April 29, 2010 Volume 31, No. 29

All four Mizzou nominees win 2010 Goldwater Scholars Award

Four MU students have been named as 2010 Goldwater Scholars by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation. Bertram Drury, Daniel Cook, April Diebold and Rachel Waller were nominated by MU faculty members and selected by the foundation based on academic merit.

Universities are allowed to nominate four students per year. This is the first year that all four MU nominees have received the highly competitive award. Each award provides $7,500 that can be used at any accredited institution for a maximum of two years.

The Goldwater scholars program recognizes the outstanding potential of talented undergraduates in the fields of math and science, says Ted Tarkow, associate dean of arts and science. “The fact that four MU undergraduates have received 2010 Goldwater scholarships is a testimony to the terrific ability of the students. All four have benefited from opportunities to participate in scientific research that is integral to their undergraduate degrees and to MU’s mission.”

The four students are juniors at MU. Three students are in the College of Arts and Science: Drury is studying chemistry, Diebold is studying biological sciences and Cook is majoring in biology and chemistry. Waller is majoring in biochemistry, which is part of the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources and the School of Medicine.

A total of 16 Goldwater Scholarships were awarded to students at MU between 1995 and 2008. Curtis Atkisson received the scholarship in 2009 and will study in Thailand and Bangladesh this summer.

The Goldwater Scholarship program was designed to encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering. It was established by the United States Congress in 1986 to honor former Sen. Barry Goldwater, a Republican from Arizona. Nationwide, 278 students received the award this year.