Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

April 8, 2010 Volume 31, No. 26

Honoring the best

Each year, the Mizzou Alumni Association recognizes faculty and alumni for their contributions to making MU a world-class academic institution. Earlier this week, the association announced winners of the 2010 Faculty/Alumni Awards. The awards will be presented at an Oct. 8 banquet in Columbia.

Gary Smith, M Ed ’65, EdD’71, director of admissions and registrar emeritus, and executive director of  the Missouri Flagship Council will receive the Distinguished Service Award. Jerry Atwood, Curators’ Professor and Chair of chemistry, will receive the Distinguished Faculty Award.

Winners of the Alumni Awards are: Brett Begemann, BS ’83, executive vice president of Monsanto Corp.; Jeffrey Bonner; BA ’75, president and CEO of the St. Louis Zoological Park; Michael Clarke; MD ’69, founder and president of Clarke Orthopedic Clinic; Tarek S. Mansour; PhD ’82, vice president of Wyeth Research; Kenneth A. Paulson; BJ ’75, president and CEO of the Newseum; Anne Raymond; BSBA ‘80 managing director of Crow Holdings; Tom Schultz, BJ ’56, director of development at MU; and John A. Walsh, MA ’69, senior vice president of ESPN Internet Group.

Winners of the Faculty Awards are: Douglas Grouws, professor of education; Mary Beth Marrs, BS IE ‘87, MBA ‘95, PhD ‘99, assistant dean of business; Mike McKean; BJ ’79, professor of journalism; Richard McGuire, assistant professor of education; and Fred vom Saal, Curators’ Professor of biological sciences.