Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

March 11, 2010 Volume 31, No. 23

Tiger tribute to women

Each year, the MU Tribute to Women honors faculty, staff and students who have helped create an environment of equity, fairness and justice for all women on the Mizzou campus. Awardees also are recognized for their respect for the diversity of women’s experiences and for promoting the advancement of women through education, advocacy, support and activism.

This year’s award ceremony will be held from 3 to 4:30 p.m. today, March 11, in Memorial Union’s Stotler Lounge. Following a brief reception, the awards ceremony will begin at 3:30 p.m.

Awardees are women who are active MU faculty, staff or students. They are nominated by members of the university community and selected by the chancellor’s committee on the status of women.

This year’s award winners are: April Colvin, MU Police sergeant; Sara L. Kelly, a law student; April Langley, associate professor of English and interim assistant director of black studies; Kristin Metcalf-Wilson, a nursing doctoral student; Janese Neher, a nuclear engineering doctoral student; Kristen Temple, associate director of residential academic programs for Residential Life; and Christina Wells, professor of law.